Buyer profile · Local authority

Suffolk County Council tenders and contracts

East of EnglandIpswichWebsite

Tenders published
13
About one every 28 days
Contracts awarded
25
To 53 different suppliers
Value awarded
£131m
40 contracts, frameworks excluded
Typical contract
£183k
Median value awarded
Open now
1
29 contracts end in 90 days

Figures cover in the last 12 months, from notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.

Open tenders

  1. Supply and Installation of two (2) Fire Behaviour Training Containers for Suffolk Fire and Rescue Service

    East of EnglandVehicles and fleet, Construction

    Open14 days leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £120kestimated

Coming up

Pipeline, market engagement and planned procurement notices: early warning of tenders to come.

  1. Garden Waste Receipt and Treatment

    East of EnglandWaste and street cleansing

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEs

    £6.5mestimated
  2. Feel Good Suffolk AI and Digital Offer Development

    East of EnglandIT services and software

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £170kestimated
  3. Nicotine Replacement Therapy and Smoking Cessation Medication Postal Supply within Suffolk

    East of EnglandMedical equipment and supplies, Healthcare services

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEs

    £400kestimated
  4. Supported Housing Development

    East of EnglandConstruction, Property and estates

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    Value not stated
  5. National Supervised Toothbrushing Programme Delivery

    East of EnglandHealthcare services, Social and domiciliary care

    Upcoming

    £227kestimated
  6. Provision of Network Services and Equipment

    East of EnglandTelecoms and networks, IT services and software

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £6mestimated
  7. Suffolk Pan Public Sector Wide Area Network

    East of EnglandIT services and software

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEs

    £14.3mestimated
  8. Value not stated
  9. Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps (2027/2028)

    East of EnglandTraining, Education services

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEs

    £1.5mestimated
  10. Suffolk Adult Learning Service

    East of EnglandTraining, Education services

    UpcomingSuitable for SMEs

    £4.57mestimated

When it goes to market

Tender notices published each month. Active in 9 of 12 months.

What it buys

Procurements in the last 12 months, by trade.

Who it buys from

Suppliers awarded contracts in the last 12 months, by value awarded (frameworks excluded).

How it buys

How much of its work was open to any supplier.

  • Advertised openly (any supplier could bid)52%
  • Framework call-off (only suppliers on the framework)3%
  • Invited quotes (the buyer chose whom to ask)3%
  • Direct award (no competition)42%
Based on 33 procurements.

Scorecard

How we score

How Suffolk County Council has bought over the last 12 months, compared with similar buyers.

Time to bid
32 days
Longer than 70% of local authorities
Based on 13 advertised tenders
Advertised openly
52%
Lower than 64% of local authorities
Based on 33 procurements
Won by small firms
64%
Lower than 65% of local authorities
Based on 53 winning suppliers
Bids per contract
36
More than 99% of local authorities
Based on 28 awards
Split into lots
8%
Lower than 69% of local authorities
Based on 13 advertised tenders
Direct awards
42%
Higher than 79% of local authorities
Based on 33 procurements
Cancelled
23%
Higher than 98% of local authorities
Based on 13 tenders

Compared with other local authorities

Time to bid, 283 local authorities
Show as a table
RangeBuyers
0–5 days0
5–10 days0
10–15 days0
15–20 days4
20–25 days11
25–30 days120
30–35 days119
35–40 days19
40–45 days7
45–50 days1
50–55 days1
55–60 days1
60+ days0
Bids per contract, 228 local authorities
Show as a table
RangeBuyers
0–2 bids4
2–4 bids55
4–6 bids75
6–8 bids47
8–10 bids17
10–12 bids11
12–14 bids2
14–16 bids3
16–18 bids2
18–20 bids2
20+ bids10
Advertised openly, 365 local authorities
Show as a table
RangeBuyers
0–10%13
10–20%11
20–30%25
30–40%32
40–50%36
50–60%48
60–70%47
70–80%33
80–90%44
90–100%76
Won by small firms, 324 local authorities
Show as a table
RangeBuyers
0–10%0
10–20%0
20–30%7
30–40%6
40–50%27
50–60%41
60–70%76
70–80%80
80–90%55
90–100%32

Each column is a group of local authorities with similar figures. The coloured column holds Suffolk County Council.See the full scoreboard

Contracts ending in the next 90 days

Contracts like these are often re-tendered. Knowing early gives you time to prepare.

ContractCurrent supplierValueEnds
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Intertrain UK Ltd.£250k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Just IT Training Limited£368k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Mastered Studios£84k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)P Flannery Plant Hire (Oval) Ltd£450k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Pertemps Recruitment Partnership Limited£39k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Peter Smythe Transport Training Limited£144k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Realise Learning and Employment Limited£99k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Reed in Partnership Limited£308k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Saxonair Charter Limited£126k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Steadfast Training Ltd£157k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Breakthrough Social Enterprise Limited£400k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Swarm Training C.I.C.£105k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Tech Educators Ltd£366k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Think Employment Limited£196k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)TRS Training Limited£40k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Turning Factor£379k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Unyte Academy Ltd£46k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)West Suffolk College (Eastern Education Group)£228k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Action Community Enterprises CIC£216k30 Sept 2026
Norfolk and Suffolk Skills Bootcamps Wave 6 (2025/2026)Cenit College UK Limited£101k30 Sept 2026

8 more contracts end in the next 12 months.

Recent contract awards