Upcoming

AT1360 - Fire Door Replacement and Maintenance Framework

Luton Council · Local authority

In brief

Luton Council has announced plans to buy building maintenance work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.

It is a framework worth up to £8,000,000 excluding VAT: the most the buyer expects to spend across all suppliers, not one contract.

The contract runs for 8 years, starting 1 April 2027.

The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

Can I win this?

Competition

Usually high: a median of 6 bids per contract for this buyer (from 27 awards in the last 12 months).

Framework

Winning puts you on a list of suppliers the buyer can call on; it does not guarantee work. The £8,000,000 is the most the buyer expects to spend across all suppliers over the framework's life, not one contract.

What the notice says

A Fire Door Framework Agreement for Luton Borough Council to support the inspection, maintenance, repair and replacement of fire doors across the Council’s housing and corporate property portfolio. The Council intends to establish a multi-supplier open framework to improve resilience, maintain competition and ensure continuity of service. The framework will provide flexibility to accommodate both planned compliance programmes and reactive works whilst maintaining value for money and reducing procurement timescales. Suppliers will be expected to demonstrate appropriate third-party accreditation, competent operatives and the ability to deliver works in accordance with current legislation, Building Regulations, British Standards and the Council’s specification. The framework will provide a compliant and efficient route to market for planned, cyclical and reactive fire door works, ensuring the Council can continue to meet its statutory obligations under the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005, the Fire Safety Act 2021, the Building Safety Act 2022 and all other relevant legislation, guidance and British Standards.

How to bid

  1. Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
  2. Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
  3. Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 082730-2026

About the buyer

Luton CouncilLast 12 months

Procurements

85

Awards

40

Suppliers it has used most for building maintenance

  1. St Edmunds College Automated Doors and Salto Locks Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandBuilding maintenance and repairs, Electrical

    Closing soon11 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  2. St Edmunds College Air Conditioning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandHeating, plumbing and ventilation, Construction

    Closing soon11 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  3. St Edmunds College Gutter Cleaning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandConstruction, Building maintenance and repairs

    Closing soon11 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  4. St Edmunds College Lift Maintenance Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandLifts and escalators, Building maintenance and repairs

    Closing soon11 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  5. St Edmunds College Roller Shutter Maintenance Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandConstruction, Building maintenance and repairs

    Closing soon11 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated

From notice 082730-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 1 September 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.