AwardedAwarded 19 June 2026
DHSC:GAPH: Competency Framework for 0-5 Health Visiting Teams
Department of Health & Social Care · NHS and health
In brief
Department of Health & Social Care awarded healthcare work to Institute of Health Visiting on 19 June 2026.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
The Healthy Child Programme sets out the role of Specialist Community Public Health Nurses (health visitors and school nurses), skill‑mix teams, clinical oversight, supervision, and expectations of competence across 0–19 delivery. It explicitly recognises the requirement for competent, suitably qualified staff delivering proportionate, evidence‑based interventions. While the guidance articulates what good looks like, and acknowledges the need for registered nurses to be accountable according to Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) guidance, there is currently no nationally agreed competency framework that translates these expectations into a consistent, practical description of the knowledge, skills and professional behaviours required of practitioners delivering the HCP across different roles and levels of service. This creates variation in how competence in skill mix teams is interpreted, developed, assured and commissioned locally.
Commissioning a national competency framework would address this gap and provide a shared foundation for workforce capability, quality assurance and service improvement.
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Institute of Health Visiting | £41,596 | 26 June 2026 to 31 March 2027 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Contract details notice · UK7, notice 058138-2026
Last time this was bought
DHSC: G&PH: Local Authority Public Health Peer Review and External Support
- Awarded
- 31 March 2026
- Value
- £7,860,000
- Contract ends
- 31 March 2029
Matched on Department of Health & Social Care, the type of work and the title; it may be a related contract rather than the same one. Check the notice to be sure.
About the buyer
Department of Health & Social CareLast 12 months
Procurements
116Awards
69Suppliers it has used most for healthcare
- ECONOMIC RESEARCH SERVICES LIMITED T/A Fortia Insight3 contracts
- Improvement & Development Agency For Local Government3 contracts
- People Asset Management Limited2 contracts
- Health Partners1 contract
- Institute of Health Visiting1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open healthcare tenders- £7mestimated
- £82kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
From notice 058138-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 19 June 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.