AwardedAwarded 12 February 2026
DHSC: GPH: Female Residential Rehabilitation Feasibility Study
Department of Health & Social Care · NHS and health
In brief
Department of Health & Social Care awarded care and healthcare work to University of York on 12 February 2026.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
There is a growing body of evidence which demonstrates the vulnerability of women in the criminal justice system who have problems with drugs and alcohol. There have been limited approaches which have sought to improve treatment for women in services dominated by men. This research project offers the opportunity to identify the effectiveness of entering residential treatment immediately after release from prison for women.
The proposal is to fund the University of York’s “ARROW Project”, covering the costs of residential treatment episodes in what is otherwise a NIHR funded study. The funding would provide 12 weeks of residential rehabilitation for each woman (20 in total) allocated to that arm of the study.
The research will test a women only, gender and trauma-informed residential rehabilitation pathway for drug dependent women leaving prison and whether it supports long-term recovery in comparison to treatment as usual.
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| University of York | £312,600 | |
| University of York | £312,600 | 12 February 2026 to 31 March 2026 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Transparency notice · UK5, notice 001169-2026
- Contract details notice · UK7, notice 012863-2026
About the buyer
Department of Health & Social CareLast 12 months
Procurements
116Awards
67Suppliers it has used most for care
- Improvement & Development Agency For Local Government3 contracts
- People Asset Management Limited3 contracts
- Ipsos Limited1 contract
- LGBT Foundation Ltd1 contract
- Mildmay Hospital Ltd1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open care tenders- £7mestimated
- £82kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
From notice 001169-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 7 January 2026, last updated 12 February 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.