Upcoming
Direct Payment Support Service- Market Engagement RFI
Herefordshire Council · Local authority
In brief
Herefordshire Council has announced plans to buy care work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.
The notice does not state a value.
The contract runs for 3 years, up to 5 years with extensions, starting 1 May 2027.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Competition
Usually high: a median of 7.5 bids per contract for this buyer (from 28 awards in the last 12 months).
What the notice says
Market Engagement -RFI regarding Direct Payment Support Service (DPSS).
Herefordshire Council is issuing this RFI as part of a preliminary market engagement exercise in accordance with the Procurement Act 2023 (the "Act"). This RFI is for information seeking purposes and it does not form part of a procurement process and does not constitute a call for competition to procure any goods, works or services or to award any contract and the Council is not bound by any proposal offered.
The Council is seeking information from the marketplace for the purposes of:
• identifying suppliers that may be able to supply the Direct Payment Support Service (DPSS)
• understanding some of the potential challenges posed by our requirements
• developing the requirements and approach to any potential procurement;
• reviewing the current service to ensure that any future Direct Payment Support Service continues to respond to the changing needs and demographics of the county.
Information provided will assist the Council in assessing the market's capacity and developing/ finalising the requirements of any proposed solution, and potential approach to market.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 066040-2026
About the buyer
Herefordshire CouncilLast 12 months
Procurements
108Awards
74Suppliers it has used most for care
- Careium UK Limited1 contract
- Civica UK Limited1 contract
- Connexus Homes Limited1 contract
- PCA Dom 11 contract
- Rainbow Care Solutions Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open care tenders- £82kestimated
- £1.57bnframework ceiling
- £5.6mframework ceiling
- Value not stated
- £65mframework ceiling
From notice 066040-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 14 July 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.