AwardedAwarded 12 June 2026
Festive Light Scheme for Braintree Town Centre
Braintree District Council · Local authority
In brief
Braintree District Council awarded construction and electrical work to Gala Lights Ltd on 12 June 2026.
The notice gives a value of £190,000 excluding VAT.
The contract runs for 31 months, up to 43 months with extensions, starting 10 July 2026.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
To procure the design, supply (on a hire basis), installation, and removal of new festive lights within Braintree town centre. Under this procurement, there is also the requirement to upgrade the existing connection points, and electrical infrastructure to support the proposed scheme.
Due to the works and service elements, there will be two contracts under this procurement, both contracts will be awarded to one contractor.
The cost and quality response for both elements will be evaluated as a combined bid.
There is scope within the specification for the scheme to be reduced depending on available budget.
Works - 4 week construction period + 31 month rectification period
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Gala Lights Ltd (SME) 2 bids received | £241,956 | Awarded 11 June 2026 |
| Gala Lights Ltd (SME) 2 bids received | £14,995 | Awarded 12 June 2026 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Tender notice · UK4, notice 042194-2026
- Contract award notice · UK6, notice 058088-2026
About the buyer
Braintree District CouncilLast 12 months
Procurements
43Awards
36Suppliers it has used most for construction
- Hags-Smp Limited2 contracts
- Happe Contracts Limited2 contracts
- Balm & Davies Ltd1 contract
- Bendcrete Leisure Limited1 contract
- Bernhards Sports Surfaces Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open construction tenders- £75kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £20mestimated
From notice 042194-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 7 May 2026, last updated 19 June 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.