Upcoming

Martello Tower E - Preliminary Market Engagement

Tendring District Council · Local authority

In brief

Tendring District Council has announced plans to buy construction work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.

The estimated value is £2,250,000 excluding VAT.

The contract runs for 4 years, starting 1 December 2026.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

Can I win this?

Competition

Usually high: a median of 6 bids per contract for construction contracts in this region (from 260 awards in the last 12 months).

What the notice says

This notice is issued to inform the market of an upcoming works opportunity and to seek early market feedback to help shape the procurement strategy, scope, and delivery approach. This Pre‑Market Engagement (PME) exercise does not constitute a commitment by the Authority to commence a procurement or to award any contract. Participation is voluntary and will not provide any advantage or disadvantage in any future procurement process. Note: A previous Pre‑Market Engagement exercise was undertaken; however, limited market interest indicated that the project approach required reconsideration. As a result, the Authority has reviewed the delivery strategy and now intends to combine all elements…Read the full description
This notice is issued to inform the market of an upcoming works opportunity and to seek early market feedback to help shape the procurement strategy, scope, and delivery approach. This Pre‑Market Engagement (PME) exercise does not constitute a commitment by the Authority to commence a procurement or to award any contract. Participation is voluntary and will not provide any advantage or disadvantage in any future procurement process. Note: A previous Pre‑Market Engagement exercise was undertaken; however, limited market interest indicated that the project approach required reconsideration. As a result, the Authority has reviewed the delivery strategy and now intends to combine all elements of the works (temporary enclosure, enabling works, repair and refurbishment) into a single procurement package Tendring District Council has secured funding as part of a wider £19.8m regeneration programme to deliver a number of schemes across the district. One of the key projects is the repair, conservation and refurbishment of Martello Tower E, a Napoleonic-era coastal defence structure located in Clacton‑on‑Sea. Approximately £2.25m has been allocated to repurpose the tower into a future events and cultural venue, while conserving its historic fabric and significance for future generations. Martello Tower E is a Scheduled Monument and Grade II listed structure, and the Authority has been working closely with Historic England, who are supportive of the proposed approach. The proposed procurement package will initially focus on addressing the building's immediate condition issues, followed by repair, conservation and refurbishment works. The scope is indicative and subject to further development but is expected to include: - UKPN power connection and associated works - Erection of a temporary weather enclosure to allow drying out - Careful lifting, numbering and storage of historic building fabric in line with conservation best practice - Enabling works as required - Conservation‑led repair works -Refurbishment works to prepare the building for an incoming tenant, including: Floor refurbishments Installation of external windows and doors Platform lift and staircase Mechanical and electrical services Internal and below‑ground drainage and attenuation - Construction of a small new pavilion building to support future use The Authority is seeking early feedback from suitably experienced contractors and specialists, particularly those with expertise in: - Heritage and conservation‑led construction - Work to Scheduled Monuments and listed buildings - Temporary works and weather protection structures - Complex refurbishment in exposed coastal environments Feedback may help inform: - Packaging and phasing of works - Risk allocation - Procurement procedure and timescales - Market capacity and capability

How to bid

  1. Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
  2. Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
  3. Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 023572-2026
  2. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 041200-2026

About the buyer

Similar open tenders

All open construction tenders
  1. Herring and Haven Bridge

    Norfolk County CouncilEast of EnglandConstruction, Highways and street lighting

    Closing soonLess than an hour left2 lotsSuitable for SMEs

    £6.72mestimated
  2. Phase 1 Junior Play Area Equipment Installation - Hawley Green

    Blackwater and Hawley Town CouncilNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South WestGrounds maintenance and landscaping, Construction

    Closing soon7 hours leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £75kestimated
  3. St Edmunds College Air Conditioning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandHeating, plumbing and ventilation, Construction

    Closing soon14 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  4. St Edmunds College Gutter Cleaning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandConstruction, Building maintenance and repairs

    Closing soon14 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  5. St Edmunds College Roller Shutter Maintenance Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandConstruction, Building maintenance and repairs

    Closing soon14 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated

From notice 023572-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 16 March 2026, last updated 5 May 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.