Cancelled
NBI Energy Centre - Next Generation Infrastructure Programme
John Innes Centre · Local or regional public body
In brief
John Innes Centre has cancelled this procurement.
The estimated value is £11,800,000 excluding VAT.
The contract runs for 19 months, up to 139 months with extensions, starting 15 June 2026.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
This package of works forms part of the Next Generation Infrastructure (NGI) Programme, a funded development programme looking to develop the facilities across Norwich Research Park to transform the existing capabilities of John Innes Centre (JIC) and The Sainsbury Laboratory (TSL), both internally recognised centres of excellence in plant and microbial science. NGI will address the deterioration of infrastructure at JIC and TSL to create a world-class facility that will engage with its surroundings, is outward looking and promotes collaboration and innovation to supercharge JIC and TSL's ability to translate scientific knowledge into practical solutions.
As part of the NGI Programme, JIC is looking to procure, on behalf of Norwich Bioscience Institutes (NBI), the services of a specialist contractor for the proposed design, supply, installation, financing and ongoing service provision associated with a Combined Heat and Power system (CHP Engines) within the new NBI Energy Centre located at JIC (the project).
In respect of the capital cost of the CHP Engines, JIC is considering funding arrangements and will either use capital funding or seek to enter into a finance arrangement (hire purchase or lease) with the appointed contactor. The invitation to tender documents will confirm which financing structure is being taken forward by JIC.
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 062143-2025
- Tender notice · UK4, notice 074135-2025
- Procurement termination notice · UK12, notice 014779-2026
About the buyer
John Innes CentreLast 12 months
Procurements
12Awards
9Suppliers it has used most for construction
- 2g Energy Ltd.1 contract
- John Burke Associates Limited1 contract
- M.J.S. Projects (March) Ltd.1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open construction tenders- £75kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £20mestimated
From notice 062143-2025 on Find a Tender, first published 3 October 2025, last updated 18 February 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.