Cancelled

Pay and Display Machine Maintenance and Associated Back-office System, Hardware Upgrades, and PSP Service

Herefordshire Council · Local authority

In brief

Herefordshire Council has cancelled this procurement.

The notice does not state a value.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

What the notice says

Contract for maintenance and hardware upgrades for the council's existing stock of 73 pay and display machines. To Include associated back-office systems, and Payment Service Provider service to facilitate contactless card payments. Background: Herefordshire Council currently owns 73 pay and display machines of varying age for its off-street and on-street car parks within Herefordshire. A recent review of the machines, manufactured and maintained by Metric Group Ltd, has found that most are anticipated to have a few years of operational use remaining. The council therefore needs to ensure continued maintenance of the existing machines and associated back-office system, as well a number of…Read the full description
Contract for maintenance and hardware upgrades for the council's existing stock of 73 pay and display machines. To Include associated back-office systems, and Payment Service Provider service to facilitate contactless card payments. Background: Herefordshire Council currently owns 73 pay and display machines of varying age for its off-street and on-street car parks within Herefordshire. A recent review of the machines, manufactured and maintained by Metric Group Ltd, has found that most are anticipated to have a few years of operational use remaining. The council therefore needs to ensure continued maintenance of the existing machines and associated back-office system, as well a number of hardware upgrades and compatible Payment Service Provider service (PSP) for pay-by-card options. Appointing a new supplier would require either wholescale replacement or significant overhauls to the existing machines, resulting in wasted utility of the current stock and disproportionate costs and operational disruption. This award is being made under s41(1)(a) of the Procurement Act 2023 with reference to Schedule 5. Paragraph 6 of Schedule 5 provides that a direct award is permitted when: The following conditions are met in relation to the public contract- (a)due to an absence of competition for technical reasons, only a particular supplier can supply the goods, services or works required, and (b)there are no reasonable alternatives to those goods, services or works. Paragraph 7 of Schedule 5 provides that direct award is permitted when: The public contract concerns the supply of goods, services or works by the existing supplier which are intended as an extension to, or partial replacement of, existing goods, services or works in circumstances where- (a) a change in supplier would result in the contracting authority receiving goods, services or works that are different from, or incompatible with, the existing goods, services or works, and (b) the difference or incompatibility would result in disproportionate technical difficulties in operation or maintenance.

Who won

WinnerValueDates
Metric Group (SME)£475,000
Awarded 19 November 2025

Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.

Timeline

  1. Transparency notice · UK5, notice 080911-2025
  2. Contract award notice · UK6, notice 081102-2025
  3. Procurement termination notice · UK12, notice 021534-2026

About the buyer

Herefordshire CouncilLast 12 months

Procurements

108

Awards

74

Suppliers it has used most for laboratory equipment

  1. Air Quality Monitoring System for Granville Landfill

    Borough of Telford & WrekinWest MidlandsLaboratory and scientific equipment, Environmental services

    OpenNew12 days leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  2. Heating, Electrical, Mechanical and Decarbonisation Framework

    Eastern Procurement LimitedNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South West, Wales, ScotlandEnergy and utilities, Construction

    Open21 days leftSuitable for SMEsFramework

    £1.06bnframework ceiling

From notice 080911-2025 on Find a Tender, first published 9 December 2025, last updated 10 March 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.