AwardedAwarded 14 August 2026
Provision of Outsourced Pain Management Services for Barking, Havering & Redbridge University Hospital NHS Trust
Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust · NHS and health
In brief
Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust awarded healthcare and care work to Spire Healthcare Limited t/a Spire Manchester Hospital on 14 August 2026.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Direct Award Process C for Provision of Outsourcing Pain Management Services for Barking, Havering & Redbridge University Hospital NHS Trust (BHRUT). The contract is for the complete Chronic Pain Services for Adults for approximately 400 patients currently awaiting treatment. The purpose of the service is to support the reduction of Referral to Treatment (RTT) waiting times by offering eligible patients the choice to receive their assessment and any clinically appropriate treatment. This award is being made under Provider Selection Regime Direct Award C to Spire Healthcare Group PLC. The appropriate lifetime value of the contract is £285,000 will be…Read the full description
Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Direct Award Process C for Provision of Outsourcing Pain Management Services for Barking, Havering & Redbridge University Hospital NHS Trust (BHRUT). The contract is for the complete Chronic Pain Services for Adults for approximately 400 patients currently awaiting treatment. The purpose of the service is to support the reduction of Referral to Treatment (RTT) waiting times by offering eligible patients the choice to receive their assessment and any clinically appropriate treatment. This award is being made under Provider Selection Regime Direct Award C to Spire Healthcare Group PLC. The appropriate lifetime value of the contract is £285,000 will be provisioned from 04/09/2026 till 31/03/2027.
The Provider accept referrals from the Trust for eligible RTT patients; Offer new outpatient Consultant Pain Medicine assessments; Deliver clinically appropriate follow-up appointments and treatment required to complete the patient's pathway, where this falls within the Provider's agreed scope of service; Return patients to the Trust where treatment cannot be completed or where the patient's clinical needs fall outside the Provider's agreed capability; Provide timely clinical correspondence and outcome information to the Trust following each patient contact.The provider ensures that all patient information, clinical records and correspondence are managed securely and that discharge summaries are sent promptly to the referring clinician, detailing diagnosis, investigations undertaken, treatment provided, ongoing management recommendations and any further actions required.
Justification for Direct Award under Procedure C:
• The provider is the current incumbent and has delivered the service to a high standard.
• Their service is fully integrated into the patient care pathway.
• The service has demonstrated to be value for money.
• The service can be offered locally to the patient population and maintain patient health accessibility
• Provider change, or mobilisation will cause disruption for patients to be transferred, and impact their treatment
All five PSR Key Criteria have been evaluated and documented internally.
This procurement falls outside the scope of application of the regulations - Public Contracts Regulations 2015/Procurement Act 2023. This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015/Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to this award. This contract has not yet formally been awarded. This notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR. The publication of this notice marks the start of the standstill period and closes 23:59 Thursday 03/09/2026.
Representations by providers must be made to the relevant authority by 03/09/2026. Any written representations should be made to – [email removed]. Supplier Legal Name: Spire Healthcare Group PLC • Company Registration Number: 09084066 • Registered Office Address: 3 Dorset Rise, London, EC4Y 8EN
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Spire Healthcare Limited t/a Spire Manchester Hospital (SME) | £285,000 | Awarded 14 August 2026 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Transparency notice · UK5, notice 080354-2026
- Transparency notice · UK5, notice 080359-2026
- Contract award notice · UK6, notice 080362-2026
Last time this was bought
- Won by
- Nuffield Health
- Awarded
- 14 August 2026
- Value
- £285,000
Matched on Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust, the type of work and the title. Check the notice to be sure.
About the buyer
Procurements
13Awards
9Suppliers it has used most for healthcare
- Nuffield Health2 contracts
- Spire Healthcare Limited t/a Spire Manchester Hospital2 contracts
- Circle Health Group Limited1 contract
- Gutcare.org Ltd (Medcare World)1 contract
- Health Now Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open healthcare tenders- £7mestimated
- £82kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
From notice 080354-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 24 August 2026, last updated 24 August 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.