AwardedAwarded 24 April 2025
Rural Grass Cutting and Verge Maintenance
Chelmsford City Council · Local authority
In brief
Chelmsford City Council awarded construction and highways work to B F Ground Maintenance Limited on 24 April 2025.
The notice gives a value of £1,190,000 including VAT.
The contract runs for 3 years, up to 7 years with extensions, starting 1 May 2026.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
Chelmsford City Council manages Rural Grass Verge Cutting Services in the Council area, and is seeking to appoint an experienced and qualified Contractor to undertake two planned cuts annually (with occasional services as required). The service includes litter clearance, grass cutting and traffic management (as required).
The first cut will be a single width cut followed by a 2nd full width cut on with the option of a third cut following an instruction by the supervising Officer. The contractor is required to submit an additional price per square metre for any smaller areas requiring additional cutting during the year. The Contract will be awarded for 3 years with an option of a further 2, 2 year extension periods.
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| B F Ground Maintenance Limited (SME) 5 bids received | £1,190,000 | Awarded 24 April 2025 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Tender notice · UK4, notice 020616-2026
- Tender notice · UK4, notice 030053-2026
- Contract award notice · UK6, notice 037790-2026
About the buyer
Chelmsford City CouncilLast 12 months
Procurements
28Awards
25Suppliers it has used most for construction
- Abacus Playground Limited1 contract
- Auckland Manufacturing Ltd t/a PGM Signs,1 contract
- Bakers of Danbury Ltd1 contract
- Clairglow Heating Ltd1 contract
- D C M Projects Ltd.1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open construction tenders- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £20mestimated
- £149kestimated
From notice 020616-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 6 March 2026, last updated 24 April 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.