Buyer profile · Local authority
East Lothian Council tenders and contracts
- Tenders published
- 11
- About one every 33 days
- Contracts awarded
- 12
- To 16 different suppliers
- Value awarded
- £25m
- 14 contracts, frameworks excluded
- Typical contract
- £380k
- Median value awarded
- Open now
- 2
- 1 coming up
Figures cover in the last 12 months, from notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.
Open tenders
- Value not stated
- £43.7mestimated
Coming up
Pipeline, market engagement and planned procurement notices: early warning of tenders to come.
- Value not stated
When it goes to market
Tender notices published each month. Active in 8 of 12 months.
What it buys
Procurements in the last 12 months, by trade.
Who it buys from
Suppliers awarded contracts in the last 12 months, by value awarded (frameworks excluded).
How it buys
How much of its work was open to any supplier.
- Advertised openly (any supplier could bid)71%
- Direct award (no competition)29%
Scorecard
How we scoreHow East Lothian Council has bought over the last 12 months, compared with similar buyers.
- Time to bid
- 31 days
- Longer than 68% of local authorities
- Based on 10 advertised tenders
- Advertised openly
- 71%
- Higher than 66% of local authorities
- Based on 17 procurements
- Won by small firms
- 94%
- Higher than 96% of local authorities
- Based on 16 winning suppliers
- Bids per contract
- 2
- Fewer than 92% of local authorities
- Based on 9 awards
- Split into lots
- 27%
- Higher than 77% of local authorities
- Based on 11 advertised tenders
- Direct awards
- 29%
- Higher than 57% of local authorities
- Based on 17 procurements
- Cancelled
- 0%
- Lower than 58% of local authorities
- Based on 11 tenders
Compared with other local authorities
East Lothian Council: 31 days
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–5 days | 0 |
| 5–10 days | 0 |
| 10–15 days | 0 |
| 15–20 days | 3 |
| 20–25 days | 17 |
| 25–30 days | 140 |
| 30–35 days | 126 |
| 35–40 days | 25 |
| 40–45 days | 6 |
| 45–50 days | 3 |
| 50–55 days | 1 |
| 55–60 days | 0 |
| 60+ days | 0 |
East Lothian Council: 2
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–2 bids | 5 |
| 2–4 bids | 71 |
| 4–6 bids | 95 |
| 6–8 bids | 53 |
| 8–10 bids | 26 |
| 10–12 bids | 12 |
| 12–14 bids | 4 |
| 14–16 bids | 4 |
| 16–18 bids | 1 |
| 18–20 bids | 0 |
| 20+ bids | 9 |
East Lothian Council: 71%
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–10% | 16 |
| 10–20% | 22 |
| 20–30% | 35 |
| 30–40% | 42 |
| 40–50% | 39 |
| 50–60% | 47 |
| 60–70% | 64 |
| 70–80% | 33 |
| 80–90% | 37 |
| 90–100% | 73 |
East Lothian Council: 94%
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–10% | 0 |
| 10–20% | 1 |
| 20–30% | 5 |
| 30–40% | 14 |
| 40–50% | 19 |
| 50–60% | 69 |
| 60–70% | 90 |
| 70–80% | 102 |
| 80–90% | 50 |
| 90–100% | 23 |
Each column is a group of local authorities with similar figures. The coloured column holds East Lothian Council.See the full scoreboard
Contracts ending in the next 90 days
Contracts like these are often re-tendered. Knowing early gives you time to prepare.
No contracts we hold from East Lothian Council end in the next 90 days.
Recent contract awards
| Contract | Won by | Value | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Provision of food waste reprocessing | Biogen (UK) Limited | — | 27 Jul 2026 |
| Proposed Refurbishment at Loch Centre, Tranent | Algo Design and Build | — | 16 Jul 2026 |
| Removals & Storage | Doree Bonner International | — | 30 Jun 2026 |
| Housing Support for care experienced young people (East Lothian Council) | The Rock Trust | — | 26 Jun 2026 |
| Rural Grass Verge Cutting Services in East Lothian | James Tait and Son | — | 18 May 2026 |
| Proposed Housing at the Former Wallyford PS Site, Wallyford | CCG (Scotland) Ltd | — | 31 Mar 2026 |
| Supply, Installation, Maintenance & Replacement of Bus Shelters | Commutaports Limited | — | 30 Mar 2026 |
| Licensing System | NEC Software Solutions UK Limited | — | 4 Mar 2026 |
| Home to School Transport- Mainstream (East Lothian Council) | AC Taxis, Eve Coaches Ltd, Prentice Coaches Ltd and 2 more | — | 23 Feb 2026 |
| General Timber Materials | MGM Timber (Scotland) Limited | — | 17 Nov 2025 |