Upcoming
Communication Channel System/RFI/PRO/2026
The Open University · Education
In brief
The Open University has announced plans to buy IT and software work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.
The notice does not state a value.
The contract runs for 10 years, up to 15 years with extensions, starting 1 August 2028.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Competition
Usually high: a median of 5.5 bids per contract for IT and software contracts in this region (from 144 awards in the last 12 months).
What the notice says
Preliminary Market Engagement: Request for Information to gather information on the market, potential suppliers and solutions.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 030593-2026
About the buyer
The Open UniversityLast 12 months
Procurements
140Awards
112Suppliers it has used most for IT and software
- Jisc Services Limited2 contracts
- Syrenis Ltd2 contracts
- Academia Ltd1 contract
- Access UK Limited1 contract
- Actian Europe Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open IT and software tenders- £82kestimated
- £4.5mframework ceiling
- Value not stated
- £2.8mestimated
- £630kestimated
From notice 030593-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 1 April 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.