Upcoming
Hearing Recording Processing and Management Solution
Ministry of Justice · Central government
In brief
Ministry of Justice has announced plans to buy IT and software work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.
The notice does not state a value.
The contract runs for 3 years, up to 4 years with extensions, starting 2 November 2026.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Competition
Typical: a median of 3 bids per contract for this buyer (from 37 awards in the last 12 months).
What the notice says
This preliminary market engagement is being undertaken in accordance with the Procurement Act 2023. The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) is a major government department, at the heart of the justice system. The MoJ works to protect and advance the principles of justice; our vision is to deliver a world-class justice system that works for everyone in society. HM Courts & Tribunals Service (HMCTS) is responsible for the administration of courts and tribunals across England and Wales. Working in partnership with an independent judiciary, HMCTS ensures the justice system is fair, efficient and effective. Through its services, HMCTS supports access to justice for individuals, businesses and public…Read the full description
This preliminary market engagement is being undertaken in accordance with the Procurement Act 2023.
The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) is a major government department, at the heart of the justice system. The MoJ works to protect and advance the principles of justice; our vision is to deliver a world-class justice system that works for everyone in society.
HM Courts & Tribunals Service (HMCTS) is responsible for the administration of courts and tribunals across England and Wales. Working in partnership with an independent judiciary, HMCTS ensures the justice system is fair, efficient and effective. Through its services, HMCTS supports access to justice for individuals, businesses and public bodies, upholding the rule of law and enabling disputes to be resolved and decisions to be enforced.
M Courts & Tribunals Service (HMCTS), on behalf of the Ministry of Justice (MoJ), is undertaking a soft market engagement to understand current market capability for a solution that supports the conversion and/or renaming of video and audio files.
The primary focus is on MP4 and MP3 formats; however, the ability to handle additional video and audio formats would be advantageous. These may include, but are not limited to, MOV, AVI, MKV, WMV, WAV, and AAC.
The requirement relates to:
• Converting video recordings into audio only files
• Extracting and preserving metadata from the original media file
• Ensuring the secure and permanent deletion of original files from users’ local device storage
• Saving processed files to a network location using a defined and standardised file naming convention
This engagement is intended to inform HMCTS’s understanding of:
• whether suitable off the shelf software already exists;
• whether the requirement could be met through configuration or extension of an existing product; and
• whether a bespoke solution would be required.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 044082-2026
About the buyer
Ministry of JusticeLast 12 months
Procurements
316Awards
228Suppliers it has used most for IT and software
- Hippo Digital Limited2 contracts
- Solirius Reply Ltd2 contracts
- Tecknuovo Ltd2 contracts
- The Dextrous Web Ltd2 contracts
- Aptem Ltd1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open IT and software tenders- £143kestimated
- £305kestimated
- £140kestimated
- £2.8mestimated
- Value not stated
From notice 044082-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 13 May 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.