Upcoming
Independent Review Mechanism (IRM)_ Market Engagement Event
Department for Education · Education
In brief
Department for Education has announced plans to buy care and healthcare work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.
The estimated value is £800,000 excluding VAT.
The contract runs for 2 years, up to 3 years with extensions, starting 1 April 2027.
The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Competition
Typical: a median of 4 bids per contract for this buyer (from 39 awards in the last 12 months).
What the notice says
The Department for Education is exploring options for the future delivery of the Independent Review Mechanism (IRM), a statutory service that provides an independent review route for prospective and existing foster parents, adopters, and adult adoptees.
The IRM enables applicants to request an independent review of certain decisions made by fostering and adoption services, including decisions relating to approval status and access to records. Cases are considered by independent panels comprising experienced children's social care professionals, ensuring an impartial and objective review process.
The Department is seeking market feedback to inform the future service model, delivery approach, and commercial strategy. The service plays a key role in supporting transparency, fairness, and confidence in fostering and adoption decision-making processes across England.
Please note: This notice relates to pre-procurement market engagement only and does not constitute the commencement of a procurement process. Any future procurement opportunity will be advertised separately. The scope, requirements, and estimated contract value may be subject to change following market engagement.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 090828-2026
About the buyer
Department for EducationLast 12 months
Procurements
211Awards
133Suppliers it has used most for care
- Anna Freud/UCL/SLaM1 contract
- FRG Limited (operating as Family Rights Group)1 contract
- Renovo Employment Group Limited1 contract
- Sopra Steria Limited1 contract
- Thalamos Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open care tenders- £7mestimated
- £82kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
From notice 090828-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 25 September 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.