Maintenance and Response 2 Framework
National Highways · Central government
In brief
National Highways is looking for suppliers for construction and electrical work (UK-wide).
It is a framework worth up to £7,960,713,652 excluding VAT: the most the buyer expects to spend across all suppliers, not one contract.
The contract runs for 114 months, starting 6 January 2028.
It is split into 7 lots, so a supplier can bid for part of the work.
This is the first stage: register your interest by 10am, Monday 26 October 2026, and shortlisted suppliers are invited to bid.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Key dates
- Questions by
- 11:59pm, Monday 12 October 2026
- Express interest by
- 10am, Monday 26 October 2026
This is the first stage. You register interest now, and shortlisted suppliers are invited to bid later.
How bids are scored
Quality (including social value) 60% · Commercial 40%
Quality matters most. You can win without being the cheapest.
Competition
Typical: a median of 3 bids per contract for this buyer (from 11 awards in the last 12 months).
Framework
Winning puts you on a list of suppliers the buyer can call on; it does not guarantee work. The £7,960,713,652 is the most the buyer expects to spend across all suppliers over the framework's life, not one contract.
Conditions
- There are no fees charged to suppliers.
Tender documents
- Tender documents
- Tender documents · PDF
- Tender documents
- Tender documents · spreadsheet
What the notice says
This notice relates to the procurement of the Maintenance and Response 2 (M&R2) framework, which will deliver maintenance and reactive services for National Highways, across the strategic road network (SRN). The SRN is one of the biggest and most important pieces of infrastructure in the country, and is comprised of more than 4,500 miles of motorways and major A roads which are at the core of our national transport system. The M&R2 framework will consist of seven location based lots and, following the procurement exercise, a single supplier will be appointed to deliver the services in each location. Each successful supplier will also be appointed to an overarching framework agreement, to…Read the full description
Should I bid?
Tick what applies to you. Nothing is saved.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
- Send clarification questions before 11:59pm, Monday 12 October 2026.
- Register your interest before 10am, Monday 26 October 2026. Shortlisted suppliers are then invited to bid.
Lots
| Lot | Trade | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Lot 1 – South West 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the South West location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £671,032,885 |
| Lot 2 – South East 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the South East location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £1,094,387,452 |
| Lot 3 – East 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the East location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £977,448,602 |
| Lot 4 – Midlands - West 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the West Midlands location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £799,379,156 |
| Lot 5 – Midlands - East 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the East Midlands location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £726,467,978 |
| Lot 6 – North West 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the North West location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £953,242,302 |
| Lot 7 – Yorkshire & North East 6 January 2028 to 1 July 2037 What this lot coversProvision of works and services listed in Scope section of this notice for the Yorkshire & North East location. | Construction, Electrical, Highways and street lighting, Waste and street cleansing, Architecture and engineering | £901,667,512 |
Timeline
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 079815-2025
- Planned procurement notice · UK3, notice 069829-2026
- Tender notice · UK4, notice 080335-2026
About the buyer
Procurements
324Awards
245Suppliers it has used most for construction
- National Grid Electricity Distribution (South West) Plc3 contracts
- UK Power Networks3 contracts
- Associated Asphalt Contracting Ltd2 contracts
- Cadent Gas2 contracts
- National Grid Electricity Transmission plc2 contracts
Similar open tenders
All open construction tenders- £50mestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £400kestimated
From notice 079815-2025 on Find a Tender, first published 4 December 2025, last updated 24 August 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.