Upcoming

Open Framework for Building Maintenance and Building Services

Bedford Borough Council · Local authority

In brief

Bedford Borough Council has announced plans to buy architecture and engineering work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.

The notice does not state a value.

The contract runs for 8 years, up to 89 months with extensions, starting 2 November 2026.

The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

Can I win this?

Competition

Typical: a median of 3 bids per contract for this buyer (from 13 awards in the last 12 months).

Framework

Winning puts you on a list of suppliers the buyer can call on; it does not guarantee work.

What the notice says

Bedford Borough Council is seeking to create an Open Framework for building maintenance services, comprising servicing and maintenance of all mechanical and electric installations and maintenance and repair of building fabric. The framework will comprise of multiple service specific lots with both opportunities to join both single supplier lots for regular planned and reactive maintenance, and multi-supplier lots for larger repairs/renewals projects. Having previously published a Preliminary Market Engagement Notice for this procurement, Bedford Borough Council wish to engage further specifically with suppliers interested in bidding for Lot 1 - Minor Building Works, in order to determine capacity and capability to provide estimates using nationally published rate schedules. This lot will comprise suppliers providing building fabric works for projects valued up to £100k. Suppliers wishing to consult with the Council are invited to contact the buyer at the email provided to facilitate a meeting.

How to bid

  1. Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
  2. Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
  3. Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 072430-2025
  2. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 067174-2026

About the buyer

Procurements

112

Awards

80

Suppliers it has used most for architecture and engineering

  1. St Edmunds College Air Conditioning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandHeating, plumbing and ventilation, Construction

    Closing soon13 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  2. Play Area Design and Refurbishment at Belfairs Park in Southend-on-Sea

    Southend-on-Sea City CouncilEast of EnglandGrounds maintenance and landscaping, Construction

    Closing soon25 hours leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £149kestimated
  3. PA2 - Archaeological Management Plan & HE1 Works Specification, Wallingford Scheduled Monuments

    Wallingford Town CouncilNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South WestArchitecture and engineering, Leisure, culture and events

    Closing soon4 days leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £40kestimated
  4. 2026 WS3272684733 Energy Invoice Validation and Data Bureau Services

    Anglian Water Services LimitedEast of EnglandArchitecture and engineering, Energy and utilities

    Closing soon4 days leftExpress interest

    £1.7mestimated
  5. Water Cycle Study Stage 1 and 2

    East Suffolk CouncilEast of EnglandArchitecture and engineering, Environmental services

    Open7 days leftSmall contract

    Value not stated

From notice 072430-2025 on Find a Tender, first published 10 November 2025, last updated 16 July 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.