Cancelled
Tender for the Recoating of Shoegear on Central, District, Circle and Hammersmith and City Lines
London Underground Limited · Public undertaking
In brief
London Underground Limited has cancelled this procurement.
The notice does not state a value.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
What the notice says
Transport for London (TfL) is concluding a competitive procurement process for the recoating of cast and machined components-including sleet brushes, shoe gear brackets, and associated parts-used on S Stock (S7) trains operating on the Circle, District, and Hammersmith & City lines, as well as on Central Line trains.
These components experience surface coating wear during service and require restoration to an 'as-new' condition to ensure continued reliability until the next scheduled overhaul (approximately nine years for S7 and six years for Central Line stock). The recoating service will be performed offsite at the supplier's facilities.
Who won
| Winner | Value | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| Karas Plating Limited (SME) 2 bids received | £672,394 | Awarded 21 May 2026 |
Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.
Timeline
- Contract award notice · UK6, notice 051546-2026
- Procurement termination notice · UK12, notice 082564-2026
Last time this was bought
Supply of Negative Bearings for Circle, District & Hammersmith and City Lines
- Won by
- Schaeffler (UK) Limited
- Awarded
- 26 June 2026
- Value
- £1,551,699
- Contract ends
- 24 May 2030
Matched on London Underground Limited, the type of work and the title; it may be a related contract rather than the same one. Check the notice to be sure.
About the buyer
London Underground LimitedLast 12 months
Procurements
35Awards
18Suppliers it has used most for vehicle and fleet
- Ab Connectors Limited1 contract
- Karas Plating Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open vehicle and fleet tenders- £29.9mestimated
- £82kestimated
- Value not stated
- £1.06bnframework ceiling
- £4.5mestimated
From notice 051546-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 1 June 2026, last updated 1 September 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.