AwardedAwarded 25 June 2026

Various Consumer Product Testing Services

Thurrock Council · Local authority

In brief

Thurrock Council awarded architecture and engineering work to SGS United kingdom Limited, Cass Industries Limited and Minton,treharne & Davies Limited on 25 June 2026.

The contract runs for 2 years, up to 4 years with extensions, starting 1 September 2026.

It is split into 4 lots, so a supplier can bid for part of the work.

The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

What the notice says

Provision of product safety testing by named test house for Thurrock Council Trading Standards: Lot 1 - Toys Lot 2 - Electrical and Machinery Lot 3 - Cosmetics Lot 4 - Jewellery and Vapes Grant funded procurement to undertake border controls at Thurrock Border points to ensure the safety of consumer goods. For example, to check if an electrical item is safe or if there is a banned ingredient in a cosmetic product. Labs' testing is necessary when officers cannot fully ascertain how safe a product themselves as they can undertake labelling checks and visual examinations, but often proper testing is required.

Lots

LotTradeValue
Toys
1 September 2026 to 31 August 2028
What this lot covers

Testing various toys

Architecture and engineering—
Electrical and Machinery
1 September 2026 to 31 August 2028
What this lot covers

Testing various electrical and machinery products

Architecture and engineering—
Cosmetics
1 September 2026 to 31 August 2028
What this lot covers

Testing of various cosmetics

Architecture and engineering—
Jewellery and Vapes
1 September 2026 to 31 August 2028
What this lot covers

Testing of various jewellery products and vapes

Architecture and engineering—

Who won

WinnerLotValueDates
SGS United kingdom Limited
3 bids received
Toys£51,735
Awarded 25 June 2026
Cass Industries Limited (SME)
2 bids received
Electrical and Machinery£174,096
Awarded 25 June 2026
Minton,treharne & Davies Limited (SME)
2 bids received
Cosmetics£20,204
Awarded 25 June 2026
Minton,treharne & Davies Limited (SME)
2 bids received
Jewellery and Vapes£50,416
Awarded 25 June 2026

Values as the award notice gives them, excluding VAT where stated.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 014888-2026
  2. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 016334-2026
  3. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 016749-2026
  4. Tender notice · UK4, notice 030008-2026
  5. Contract award notice · UK6, notice 059966-2026

About the buyer

Thurrock CouncilLast 12 months

Procurements

62

Awards

36

Suppliers it has used most for architecture and engineering

  1. St Edmunds College Air Conditioning Services

    ST Edmund's College CambridgeEast of EnglandHeating, plumbing and ventilation, Construction

    Closing soon4 hours leftSmall contract

    Value not stated
  2. Play Area Design and Refurbishment at Belfairs Park in Southend-on-Sea

    Southend-on-Sea City CouncilEast of EnglandGrounds maintenance and landscaping, Construction

    Closing soon16 hours leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £149kestimated
  3. PA2 - Archaeological Management Plan & HE1 Works Specification, Wallingford Scheduled Monuments

    Wallingford Town CouncilNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South WestArchitecture and engineering, Leisure, culture and events

    Closing soon3 days leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £40kestimated
  4. 2026 WS3272684733 Energy Invoice Validation and Data Bureau Services

    Anglian Water Services LimitedEast of EnglandArchitecture and engineering, Energy and utilities

    Closing soon4 days leftExpress interest

    £1.7mestimated
  5. Water Cycle Study Stage 1 and 2

    East Suffolk CouncilEast of EnglandArchitecture and engineering, Environmental services

    Closing soon6 days leftSmall contract

    Value not stated

From notice 014888-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 18 February 2026, last updated 25 June 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.