Upcoming

Integrated Robotics and Autonomous Systems platform (comprising of various capabilities)

The University of Birmingham · Education

In brief

The University of Birmingham has announced plans to buy IT and software work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.

The notice does not state a value.

The contract runs for 4 months, starting 1 October 2026.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

Can I win this?

Competition

Usually high: a median of 6 bids per contract for IT and software contracts in this region (from 119 awards in the last 12 months).

What the notice says

The University of Birmingham is undertaking procurement (supply & installation) of an integrated Robotics and Autonomous Systems platform (comprising of various capabilities), with an anticipated completion date between 1st October 2026 - 1st February 2027. This EoI-tender is for the procurement of:  Connected and Automated Vehicles Lab  Outreach Interactive Experience  Mobile Robotics Lab  Mechatronic Design Lab  Introduction to Robotics Teaching Lab  Advanced Robotics Research Lab  Drone Lab  Aerospace Control Lab  Software and Virtual/Digital Twin models This Expression of Interest relates to the procurement of an integrated Robotics and Autonomous Systems platform comprising the capabilities listed above. Suppliers must demonstrate their ability to deliver the complete requirement as a coherent, integrated solution. Proposals limited to individual components or disconnected standalone equipment will not meet the University's requirement.

How to bid

  1. Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
  2. Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
  3. Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 077631-2026

About the buyer

Procurements

128

Awards

7

Suppliers it has used most for IT and software

  1. CCM1379 - OHU Software

    The Police and Crime Commissioner for LincolnshireNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South WestIT services and software, Social and domiciliary care

    Closing soonLess than an hour leftSuitable for SMEsSmall contract

    £82kestimated
  2. Royal Navy Museums Broadband Services

    National Museum of the Royal NavyNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South West, Northern IrelandIT services and software

    Closing soon5 days left2 lotsSuitable for SMEs

    £250kestimated
  3. ESG Data

    LGPS Central LimitedWest MidlandsIT services and software

    Closing soon6 days left

    £1.5mestimated
  4. UHB Workforce Management Systems

    University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation TrustWest MidlandsIT services and software

    Open8 days leftSuitable for SMEs

    Value not stated
  5. Technical Implementation Partner & Business Change Partner (DASP)

    NHS Blood and TransplantNorth East, North West, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, South East, South WestIT services and software, Management consultancy

    Open9 days leftLow competition2 lotsSuitable for SMEs

    £9.17mestimated

From notice 077631-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 14 August 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.