Upcoming

UHB eConsent PME

University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust · NHS and health

In brief

University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust has announced plans to buy IT and software work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.

The notice does not state a value.

The contract runs for 3 years, up to 4 years with extensions, starting 1 May 2026.

The buyer says it is suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.

Can I win this?

Competition

Usually high: a median of 5.5 bids per contract for this buyer (from 8 awards in the last 12 months).

What the notice says

University Hospitals Birmingham is issuing this Pre Market Engagement (PME) to engage with the market regarding the procurement of a comprehensive Electronic Consent (eConsent) System. The purpose of this exercise is to identify capable suppliers and gather detailed feedback on current market functionality. This will inform our final specification and procurement strategy. This is not a formal call for competition, but a preliminary market consultation. Clinicians at University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (UHB) currently use a paper-based form for taking consent from patients prior to examination or treatment. The form is then placed in paper notes where they are still in use or uploaded to the electronic paper record (EPR) where this is available. There are around 100,000 procedures undertaken at UHB each year. The proposed solution must digitise the clinical consent process, ensuring it is secure, legally compliant, and user-friendly for both clinicians and patients.

How to bid

  1. Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
  2. Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
  3. Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.

Timeline

  1. Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 000667-2026

About the buyer

Procurements

205

Awards

126

Suppliers it has used most for IT and software

  1. Royal Navy Museums Broadband Services

    National Museum of the Royal NavyNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South West, Northern IrelandIT services and software

    Closing soon4 days left2 lotsSuitable for SMEs

    £250kestimated
  2. ESG Data

    LGPS Central LimitedWest MidlandsIT services and software

    Closing soon5 days left

    £1.5mestimated
  3. UHB Workforce Management Systems

    University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation TrustWest MidlandsIT services and software

    Open7 days leftSuitable for SMEs

    Value not stated
  4. Technical Implementation Partner & Business Change Partner (DASP)

    NHS Blood and TransplantNorth East, North West, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, South East, South WestIT services and software, Management consultancy

    Open8 days leftLow competition2 lotsSuitable for SMEs

    £9.17mestimated
  5. ICT Managed Service Partner

    Mosaic Schools Learning TrustNorth East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London, South East, South WestComputer hardware, IT services and software

    Open8 days leftExpress interestSuitable for SMEs

    £3mestimated

From notice 000667-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 6 January 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.