Upcoming
Ipswich Heat Network Development Partner
Suffolk County Council · Local authority
In brief
Suffolk County Council has announced plans to buy construction and architecture and engineering work. This is an early notice: there is nothing to bid on yet, but it tells you a tender may follow.
The estimated value is £301,000,000 excluding VAT.
The contract runs for 40 years, starting 1 April 2027.
Built from the notice's own fields. Always check the official notice before you bid.
Can I win this?
Competition
Usually high: a median of 36 bids per contract for this buyer (from 28 awards in the last 12 months).
What the notice says
Suffolk County Council (the "Council") is seeking to appoint a Funding and Development Partner who will develop, fund, deliver and operate the Ipswich Heat Network.
The Council has been leading on the feasibility of a heat network project since 2021 and has now secured £10 million from the Government's Green Heat Network Fund to secure a private sector partner to deliver the core network.
The core network reference scheme is in Ipswich Town Centre and the intention is that the primary heat source will be the River Gipping. The network is currently expected to provide over 30 GWh of heat each year to public buildings across Ipswich.
The Council's preferred delivery vehicle is a Joint Venture with the Council anchoring and promoting the project delivery and funding provided from the private sector. The Council would hold a Golden or Special Share.
How to bid
- Read the full notice on Find a Tender, including any tender documents it links to.
- Register your organisation on the Central Digital Platform (through Find a Tender) if you have not already. Suppliers need to be registered to take part in procurements under the Procurement Act 2023.
- Follow the submission instructions in the notice; it does not name an e-tendering portal.
Timeline
- Pipeline notice · UK1, notice 006367-2026
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 026149-2026
- Pipeline notice · UK1, notice 026157-2026
- Preliminary market engagement notice · UK2, notice 035439-2026
About the buyer
Suffolk County CouncilLast 12 months
Procurements
79Awards
39Suppliers it has used most for construction
- Bell Group Limited1 contract
- Cornerstone (East Anglia) Ltd1 contract
- Crofton Engineering Limited1 contract
- EDF Energy Customers Limited1 contract
- Eco4 Gurus Limited1 contract
Similar open tenders
All open construction tenders- £75kestimated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £20mestimated
From notice 006367-2026 on Find a Tender, first published 23 January 2026, last updated 20 April 2026. We last checked for changes on 28 September 2026.