- Training16
Buyer profile · Central government
Department for Transport tenders and contracts
- Tenders published
- 26
- About one every 14 days
- Contracts awarded
- 60
- To 59 different suppliers
- Value awarded
- £141m
- 56 contracts, frameworks excluded
- Typical contract
- £62k
- Median value awarded
- Open now
- 4
- 10 contracts end in 90 days
Figures cover in the last 12 months, from notices on Find a Tender and Contracts Finder.
Open tenders
- £20kestimated
- £135kestimated
- £1.95mestimated
- £3mestimated
Coming up
Pipeline, market engagement and planned procurement notices: early warning of tenders to come.
- Value not stated
- Value not stated
- £700kestimated
- £800kestimated
- £6mframework ceiling
- £14mestimated
- £81mestimated
- Value not stated
- £15mestimated
- £1estimated
When it goes to market
Tender notices published each month. Active in 11 of 12 months.
What it buys
Procurements in the last 12 months, by trade.
What its tenders ask for
Accreditations and conditions its notices mention in the last 12 months. Always check the tender documents.
Who it buys from
Suppliers awarded contracts in the last 12 months, by value awarded (frameworks excluded).
How it buys
How much of its work was open to any supplier.
- Advertised openly (any supplier could bid)36%
- Framework call-off (only suppliers on the framework)5%
- Invited quotes (the buyer chose whom to ask)1%
- Direct award (no competition)57%
Scorecard
How we scoreHow Department for Transport has bought over the last 12 months, compared with similar buyers.
- Time to bid
- 28 days
- Shorter than 74% of central government buyers
- Based on 24 advertised tenders
- Advertised openly
- 36%
- Lower than 52% of central government buyers
- Based on 80 procurements
- Won by small firms
- 34%
- Lower than 78% of central government buyers
- Based on 61 winning suppliers
- Bids per contract
- 3
- Fewer than 53% of central government buyers
- Based on 15 awards
- Split into lots
- 4%
- Lower than 58% of central government buyers
- Based on 26 advertised tenders
- Direct awards
- 57%
- Higher than 61% of central government buyers
- Based on 80 procurements
- Cancelled
- 4%
- Higher than 72% of central government buyers
- Based on 26 tenders
Compared with other central government buyers
Department for Transport: 28 days
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–5 days | 0 |
| 5–10 days | 0 |
| 10–15 days | 0 |
| 15–20 days | 0 |
| 20–25 days | 5 |
| 25–30 days | 20 |
| 30–35 days | 23 |
| 35–40 days | 4 |
| 40–45 days | 3 |
| 45–50 days | 0 |
| 50–55 days | 0 |
| 55–60 days | 0 |
| 60+ days | 0 |
Department for Transport: 3
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–2 bids | 4 |
| 2–4 bids | 25 |
| 4–6 bids | 13 |
| 6–8 bids | 4 |
| 8–10 bids | 4 |
| 10–12 bids | 4 |
| 12–14 bids | 0 |
| 14–16 bids | 0 |
| 16–18 bids | 1 |
| 18–20 bids | 0 |
| 20+ bids | 1 |
Department for Transport: 36%
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–10% | 19 |
| 10–20% | 16 |
| 20–30% | 15 |
| 30–40% | 14 |
| 40–50% | 8 |
| 50–60% | 10 |
| 60–70% | 7 |
| 70–80% | 10 |
| 80–90% | 9 |
| 90–100% | 12 |
Department for Transport: 34%
Show as a table
| Range | Buyers |
|---|---|
| 0–10% | 3 |
| 10–20% | 5 |
| 20–30% | 11 |
| 30–40% | 13 |
| 40–50% | 20 |
| 50–60% | 19 |
| 60–70% | 11 |
| 70–80% | 15 |
| 80–90% | 12 |
| 90–100% | 3 |
Each column is a group of central government buyers with similar figures. The coloured column holds Department for Transport.See the full scoreboard
Contracts ending in the next 90 days
Contracts like these are often re-tendered. Knowing early gives you time to prepare.
| Contract | Current supplier | Value | Ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| DfT Award of Financial Times (FT) Subscription | Financial Times Limited(The) | £28k | 28 Sept 2026 |
| TMAR3146 - MAIB Navigational Risk Assessment | NASH Maritime Ltd | £31k | 30 Sept 2026 |
| Chair of the Cost of Public EV Charging Review | Peyrouat Ltd | £30k | 30 Sept 2026 |
| European Transport Conference - 2026 | Training for Transport Professionals Ltd | £20k | 11 Oct 2026 |
| AOC Flying Training | Isles of Scilly Skybus Limited | £23k | 30 Oct 2026 |
| Analysis of VECTO data for HGVs | Ricardo-Aea Limited | £14k | 31 Oct 2026 |
| SCI Feasibility Studies DNO 4 - SPEN | SP Manweb plc | £15k | 31 Oct 2026 |
| SCI Feasibility Studies DNO 1 - ENWL | Electricity North West | £25k | 31 Oct 2026 |
| DfT Provision of Interim Property Resource | Newmark Gerald Eve LLP | £110k | 1 Nov 2026 |
| Provision of C-Suite Programme | KPMG LLP | £11k | 1 Dec 2026 |
Recent contract awards
| Contract | Won by | Value | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|
| TFTS3046 - 2027 VED Roadside Survey Fieldwork | Intelligent Data Collection Limited | £267k | 23 Sept 2026 |
| Media Buying Services | Wavemaker Limited | £30m | 11 Sept 2026 |
| DfT - VISUM Software Licence | PTV (UK) Limited | — | 7 Sept 2026 |
| Phase 4 - Road Accident In-Depth Studies (RAIDS) programme | TRL | — | 2 Sept 2026 |
| People Analytics Programme | Insight222 | — | 2 Sept 2026 |
| SCI Feasibility Studies DNO 1 - ENWL | Electricity North West | — | 1 Sept 2026 |
| EN18324 Phase 2 - Support Services | SYSTRA Limited | — | 1 Sept 2026 |
| Provision of Transport Analysis Guidance (TAG) Appraisal & Modelling Tools | AtkinsRealis UK Limited | — | 26 Aug 2026 |
| Clean Vehicle Retrofit Accreditation Scheme | Energy Saving Trust Enterprises Limited | £983k | 26 Aug 2026 |
| Support services for ATP testing | Cambridge Refrigeration Technology | — | 18 Aug 2026 |